The African Union is an institution born from the transformation of the African Unity Organization (OUA); the deed of association of the Union has been adopted during the Lomé OUA summit, held on July 2000.
The headquarters of the African Union is in Addis Ababa, already hosting the OUA. 53 countries are members of the AU. Since 1984 Morocco is no longer a member State of the Union, protesting against the admission of West Sahara to the Union.

The African Union was set up to accelerate the economic and political integration between African countries, as well as to co-ordinate economic, cultural, medical, scientific and military policies; to promote co-operation, peace and stability in Africa; to promote democratic principles and institutions and the respect for human rights, to safeguard the territorial independence and integrity of the Member States; to destroy the last traces of colonialism and apartheid.

The Chairman is in charge for one year. This year the African Union Chairman is the Libyan leader Muammar al-Gaddafi.


The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) was founded on 16th October 1920 and its headquarters are in Rome.
FAO’s mandate is to increase the levels of nutrition, improve agricultural productivity, enhance the living conditions of rural populations and contribute to the growth of the world economy.
FAO assists those Countries willing to develop their agricultural systems and it defines programs for reducing hunger. The Organization uses millions of dollars allocated by industrialised countries, development banks and other donors while checking the concrete success of the same projects.
Currently, 191 States plus the European Union are members of the FAO.

FAO’s Director-General is Dr Jacques Diouf.


The international Task Force for global food crisis was established on May 2008. The first meeting was held in New York, chaired by the UN General Secretary Ban Ki-moon.
The Task Force convenes the leaders of the main UN agencies, the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank and other International experts. It is working on a general action plan to face the problems caused by the food prices upsurge all over the world.

The Coordinator of the Task force is David Nabarro.


IFAD is an international financial institution and a specialised United Nations agency dedicated to eradicating poverty and hunger in rural areas of developing countries. It provides loans and grants to developing countries to finance innovative agriculture and rural development programmes and projects.

IFAD works in partnership, especially with national governments and organisations of poor rural people, to develop initiatives that help very poor women and men get access to the resources, skills and opportunities they need to increase food production and earn higher incomes. These are managed and implemented by national governments and their partners, with IFAD’s support. It also works with partners in the international development community, especially other United Nations agencies and multilateral financial institutions to increase the effectiveness of development efforts globally.

The president of IFAD is Kanayo F. Nwanze.


The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organization founded in 1961. It is based in Paris and it gathers 30 Member Countries committed to democracy and market economy. It also co-operates with many other non-member Countries and stakeholders from civil society, business companies and other international organisations.
OECD provides statistics, economic and social data, analyses and forecasts economic developments, researches on social changes and evolving trends in trade,

environment, agriculture, technology, fiscal policy helping Governments in comparing political experiences, seeking answers to common problems, identifying good practices, co-ordinating domestic and international policies.

OECD Secretary-General is Mr. Angel Gurría


The World Bank is based in Washington DC and it is the leading international organisation for the support to development and poverty reduction.

It was established in 1920, under the name of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), along with the International Monetary Fund (IMF), following the Bretton Woods Agreement.

Once carried out the post-war reconstruction across Europe and Japan, the World Bank turned its attention to the developing world.

The World Bank has gradually focused on developing social and human capital, private sector growth, improvement of governance and debt relief.

Unlike other international donors, only a small part of the World Bank’s aid is given in the form of donations, largely in the form of credits from Governments of the Member State or for projects guaranteed by the Government of a Member State. Non-governmental organisations participate in carrying out almost half the projects financed by the World Bank.

The President of the World Bank is Robert B. Zoellick.


The World Food Programme (WFP) is the food aid branch of the United Nations and is based in Rome.

The WFP has been sending food aid to countries affected by humanitarian crises since 1963.
Every year, around 90 million people in over 80 countries benefit from its emergency operations and its food security and development projects.
A total of 58.8 million children are reached by the UN World Food Program.

The WFP is exclusively financed by voluntary contributions from Governments, citizens and private companies. 93% of the WFP budget is directly spent in food aid operations.

The Executive Director of the UN World Food Programme is Josette Sheeran.